Competitive Salary is Expected

[quote]Jordan’s Language School

We’re a well-organized school. We provide different kinds of curriculmn, professional
working environment, a lot of teaching aids and resources for teachers. If you are the right person, a competitive salary is expected.
(For full-time teachers, about NTD50,000 or more)
Don’t hestitate to send us your resume, if you can meet the following conditions: [/quote]

What a joke!
I have been working there for the past 3 years. Let me give you my take on this.
They hired me to take care of the beginner classes and told me that I’d teach them 2 out of 4 hours per week.
They started out with two of those beginner classes with about 8 to 10 students each. The other hours were bigger kids.
So 4 hours per week the youngsters and 6 hours the bigger kids. I had one out of four hours for the bigger kids.

Last semester I asked for a 100 NT$ salary increase and they agreed to give me 50NT$.
After that, however, they had me teach the smaller kids only one hour per week cutting my weekly hours down to 8 hours.
There are 4 beginner classes now and they are full. I teach each class only one hour per week. So I complained about this practice and I asked them to find some kind of solution.
Nothing happened I just got a stupid grin.
By the way, they shifted these hours around from Monday to Friday quite frequently and I always played along.
I managed to make only 18 000 to 23 000 NT$ in the afternoons per month.
I payed about 250 NT$ per week for gifts to motivate the bigger students which are difficult to handle.
I digitalized all their books sounds and lessons, set up two electronic white-boards. This alone made a 20 minutes increase in teaching efficiency alone.
When I started teaching there, they only provided me with some terribly lousy copied black and white papers instead of the books, like I wasn’t worth it.
No desk no cubbyhole.

I started with 10 hours per week 600 Per hour about 24000 to 2600 per month