Contract problem (was: I want big strong hunky boys)

I’m a teacher working for a company that wants to reduce my salary for February. I am a salaried employee, meaning I signed a contract with them stipulating that I get paid a fixed salary every month for the duration of the contract. Obviously, February was a shorter month and I worked fewer hours than previous months, but the contract does not say I have to work a minimum of hours each month. It does stipulate that I have to be available, which I was.

What the company (which I won’t name here (yet)) has decided to do is pay me for February by hour. Of course, this will result in my pay being lower, by about 20%. :bluemad: This is a clear breach of my contract, but for some reason the company thinks they can get away with it.

I’m not about to let this just slip by, but I’m wondering what is the best way to get what I’m owed, without getting fired? And if worst comes to worst, and I am going to get fired, how do I make sure I get everything I’m owed?

If I have to, as the U.K.-nians say, “send the boys 'round,” where can I find some boys?

Are you teaching?
Are you in a big city or a little city?
Can you afford a lawyer?

This is a tough one. In fact, as I recall, a teacher in my old school had to argue for higher pay based on a similar situation. She got it. I don’t know the legal grounds for your claim (someone else needs to post that), but if they can find any way to pay you less, they always will. Why not threaten a walkout? Or just do it? Go to school, announce to your students you can’t teach that day because you didn’t get paid, then leave. Embarrass the school. There are ways to create psychological pressure. Hiring assassins is not recommended, though!