Cram School Teaching Under 6 yo Loophole?

Good evening Formosa.

I remember often hearing people say teaching students younger than 6 is “illegal.”
However, the cram school I’ve been working at for the past 5 years has a lot of 4-6 year olds in that early afternoon slot. A lot. Never had any issues.

I’m now in the process of opening my own cram school. I would like to continue teaching that age group, as I wouldn’t want to miss out on customers for a rule that (doesnt seem to) be enforced …

My question is, does anyone have experience with this? Is there a loophole? Perhaps the enrollment form has a little “must be at least 6 years old to enroll” box to keep me covered? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

No matter what Taiwanese people try to tell you about loopholes and how their school is legal, don’t believe them, there is no such thing. Kindergartens continue to teach English to children under 6 because the government doesn’t care much, when they do care they are easily paid off, and even if you can’t pay them off they give warnings after warnings before anything actually happens and they always manage to snake their way out of getting shut down.

The common excuse is that it’s legal because it’s not all English, and the weekly 2 hour English class is the same as the 2 hour arts class where a teacher comes in from outside. It’s still not allowed though.

Kindy doesn’t equal cram school. As long as they aren’t eating or sleeping there it’s fine.

2 Likes

If you plan on poaching students from your previous school, I wouldn’t go after the clearly illegal ones. The first person to report you will be your former boss or a parent who is friends with said boss and can’t switch out their kids to your new place. Keep it on the up and up for a while.

Nope. You can’t teach kindy age kids at a cram school regardless of whether or not they sleep there. Completely illegal. Whether the government cares is a whole other issue.