Curious about learning Chinese in Taiwan

Hello friends!

I’m an American student, and I love languages and linguistics. I started learning foreign languages later than I probably should have, but I’ve had experience with Italian, Spanish, Latin and Russian so far, and speaking (or trying to speak) them is so much fun for me. More recently I started learning some Chinese, and I’ve taken a liking to Taiwan.

A few weeks ago I discovered Wenzao Ursuline University of Languages in Kaohsiung, and I learned about their Chinese program for international students. Because I hadn’t thought about going outside of the US to learn a language before, my immediate reaction was, “What the hell am I still doing here?” Now, I’ve been learning more about how education systems work outside of the United States. I’m very new to this idea, but it is probably the most exciting idea I’ve had for my future. There are some threads here for schools that teach Chinese, but I have very general questions that they didn’t answer, so I figured I would make a thread of my own.

One of the first things that I learned is that very few countries have a higher education system like the US. I’ve been in the university system for two years, and it seems that the classes I’ve taken won’t matter much to a Taiwanese school, because students aren’t able to transfer from one school to another like in the US. Is this true? If it is, it may not be so bad for me (I was at a bad school for a while, and I feel like plenty of the classes didn’t have any value anyway), but it is still something that I have to consider.