David's English Center

Hi Folks,

I’ve been in Taiwan just over a month now and I am still looking for work here. I am presently located in Taipei. I have a 90 landing visa starting from the 23rd of March 2010.

Yesterday, I was invited to an interview in the nearby city of Taoyuan to a school called David’s English Center. It’s part of a chain school with branches all over Taiwan, I understand. On the surface, it seemed like a good job as I would be teaching adults for which I have a lot of experience.

The first thing the woman, who interviewed me and who I presume is the manager of this local branch, said to me was that, by Taiwan law, the maximum number of hours a teacher can work at her school was 17 hours per week. I don’t know if she meant just her one school or all jobs combined. If she meant just her own school, isn’t that bullshit? I read some place the maximum number of hours a foreign teacher can work is something like 35 hours between all jobs?