Difference between Daoism and Shenjiao ("Chinese folk religion")

I find religion in Taiwan absolutely fascinating and I’m trying very hard to learn as much as I can. One thing I find intriguing is how, if you ask a typical Taiwanese person whether or not they’re religious, they’ll probably say no. Yet, spending some time in Taiwan, you soon come to realise that religion (in the narrow Western sense of the term) is actually a very big part of most people’s lives here. In fact, it’s so ingrained that they don’t even seem to consider it to be “religious”. Yet what I see in the temples is often extremely devotional and very much what I’d consider “religious”.

Something that confuses me is that, if you press a Taiwanese person on this matter, they might give way and say that their religion is “Daoism”. However, the “Daoism” I see practiced around Taiwan seems to have very little bearing on the Daoism I used to read about when I studied Chinese martial arts. I’ve since discovered that this “folk religion” actually has a name, Shenjiao. This is, to my understanding, the popular religion you see all around Taiwan, with numerous gods and shamanistic origins.

I’m very confused about what the relationship between Daoism and Shenjiao (“Chinese folk religion”) is. Why is it it that Taiwanese people refer to this religion as “Daoism”? If this disparate religion of gods and mythologies is Daoism, then what word do they use when they’re talking about the religion/philosophy that was articulated by thinkers like Lao Tzu and (less metaphysically) Bruce Lee?

I guess this goes to show how trapped I am in Western paradigms and creating labels for things. I’m largely ignorant of Daoism, but I understand enough of it to know that it’s opposed to using labels and definitions, so maybe Taiwanese people see beyond these arbitrary distinctions when they consider their religious traditions? Either way, it’s deeply fascinating but also very frustrating for me to get my head around!