Do I need a buyer's agent to buy real estate?

I’ve been looking into the possibility of buying a condo in Taiwan, Kaohsiung specifically. I have experience with buying real estate in the US and it’s been mostly good. Sometimes I’d hire a local agent to represent me the buyer, sometimes I’d approach the listing (seller) agent directly. The sellers and the agents on both sides have mostly been honest and factual about what they say in the disclosures and when answering my questions, in my experience anyway. They may not tell me everything but in some states certain things are required to be disclosed by sellers so I haven’t missed anything major.

Do things work much the same way in Taiwan? Do I need a good buyer agent to represent me? Is it required by law? Are there enough regulations in place for me to trust what the sellers and the agents (seller’s or buyer’s) say? I see value in having a good local agent to represent me because I’m new to the Taiwan market. Can I trust that the agent I hire will have my best interest in mind or would they just want to close the deal and take the commission? All the buyer agents I’ve dealt with in the US have been great so I have a tendency of trusting the agents I work with. If things are different in Taiwan, I’d definitely like to know :slight_smile:

By the way I’ve already noticed something. In the US the seller would hire one listing agent who would be authorized to list the property. You’ll only see one listing for a property on the online listing sites such as Zillow or MLS. This doesn’t seem to be the case in Taiwan - I see multiple listings of the same condo sometimes with the same pictures. Hmm… Are they on the seller side or the buyer side or neither?

No, but sellers might have exclusivity agreements with their agents as well.

No

No. Get a lawyer. Don’t get burned like me.

No. Agents most often represent both the seller and the buyer simultaneously.

I’m still fighting them. It’s been two years. Get a lawyer.