Does anyone have an American work visa?

I’m an Indonesian. I got my master’s degree from a Taiwanese university last year, and just started working for a Taiwanese company (IT-related) last month-ish (my very first formal job in Taiwan).

Two weeks ago the higher ups told me that that they’re planning to transfer me to their office in California (to a town called Brea. I google-mapped the place and it’s one~two hour away from Los Angeles by bus). I was a bit excited and wary at the same time. Kinda OOT, I’m gay, so my end goal is to get a PR, and ultimately a citizenship of a country where being gay is legal and protected by the law. To be honest, my end goal is Canadian citizenship; I’m (was?) planning to work in Taiwan for a couple of years, save up some money, get another degree in a Canadian university, get a working permit, work for a couple of years, get a PR, continue to work some more years, and then (finally!) get a Canadian citizenship. But this announcement threw me for a loop.

My worries are:

• Is it possible to get an American PR (green card) through a work visa? How long do I have to work legally to get a green card? I heard that, aside from getting married to an American, green card is done through lottery.

• If I was fired/quit, would I be able to get an extension visa to look for another job? In Taiwan, if you quit your job, you can get two 6 months extension visa to look for another job.

• If I was fired/quit, would I be able to enter Taiwan again to look for a new job?

• If I accepted this offer, my progress to get a Taiwanese visa will be lost/reset, correct?