Don't speak Chinese and need to pass driving test

Hi all, I’ve been in Taiwan for almost a year now and since I am planning on staying here for the next few years, I have been trying to pass my practical car driving test. Needless to say it isn’t going well…the main problem is I don’t understand what the testers are saying at all.

I’ve been driving in my home country for several years now, but my license expired soon after I arrived in Taiwan. I must be resident in my country to renew it, and although I could give my parents’ address, it is technically illegal to do so.

I’m willing to pay an interpreter for a few hours or even go to driving school to memorize what to do by rote. Problem with the driving school option is that they insist on me taking the entire course :neutral_face:. Can anyone suggest what to do?

Also, am I allowed to bring my own car to the test, rather than pay for the tester’s car? What if I fail the test, and the tester says “Hey, why are you driving out of the compound without a license?”

I’m based in Taipei.

Feeling nervous during the driving test is normal, especially when you’re unsure what to do. Remember, testers usually stay quiet unless you make a mistake. My successful test was silent, while in unsuccessful attempts, the instructor kept pointing out errors. So, focus on what you’ve learned and drive smoothly without waiting for instructions.

Yes, you are allowed to use your own car for the test. However, it’s advisable to check if your car needs any revisions before the test.
Also, make sure to inform them during registration to avoid any additional gas fees (testers using their own vehicles are exempt from gas fees) 路考油費另計(自備車輛者免繳)

If you’re concerned about failing the test and being questioned for driving without a license, your best bet is to have a friend or family member with a valid license accompany you during the test.