Dress code for college professors?

Hi everyone!

What do you think it would be acceptable dress choices for professors and lecturers in Taiwan? Back home I usually wear smart casual (sport jackets, polo shirts and chinos), but the first day I showed like that in a Taiwanese classroom, some of my students asked me why I was so formal. I know dress codes for teachers are kind of relaxed in Taiwan, and the hot and humid climate also calls for fresh and light garments most of the year, so I would like to know your opinions on this matter. TIA

2 Likes

A speedo.

Seriously, just wear something you’d usually wear. Nobody gaf in Taiwan.

6 Likes

I’m a university lecturer, not a full professor. But to my students, it doesn’t make a difference. I just wear smart casual. Polo shirts or button down shirts, jeans or slacks, nice shoes. I stay away from shorts and tees, but some teachers do go for that ultra casual look and I don’t think faculty cares. We also have a couple teachers (including a foreigner) who goes the opposite end of the spectrum and wears dress shirt with tie.

I also wear smart casual when I go out to shop or eat and I never really think it’s that formal. I feel a bit underdressed if I’m just wearing a tee. Personal preference.

5 Likes

I find my university in Taiwan very similar to my university in Canada, generally casual. Lots of people wear jeans, but I haven’t seen shorts and sandals at either university

Chinos and a polo is fine, but it’s hot this time of year for a sport coat

I always wear creased slacks and collared shirt, and I keep a sport coat in the office for cold days or special occasions

Basically, you can wear what you want. I suspect your students were commenting on wearing a jacket in this weather

4 Likes

Is there any occasion that calls for a sport coat in Taiwan?

Rule of thumb for dressing in Taiwan is to just imagine what would be appropriate if you were in Hawaii, and wear that.

Just don’t wear a mumu or slippers.