Eating healthy in Kaohsiung

Hello everyone!
I arrived in Kaohsiung a few days ago and will stay here for a few months. I’m an exchange student in Wenzao and I eat out everyday since it’s cheap and more convenient. The food is amazing but it’s difficult to find healthy dishes (by that I mean dishes with a lot of vegetables and not too many carbs and fried food). I’m scared to gain a lot of weight if I keep eating the way I’ve been eating. Do you guys know any restaurants or buffets not too far from Wenzao where I can eat healthy dishes?
Thanks!

Welcome to the site and Kaohsiung

A Big Mac has lettuce on it, and also remember,
You don’t make friends with salad.

But if nobody chips in first I will see if I can find you some places tomorrow when I have a little more time

3 Likes

Make your own food. It’s pretty much the only way to eat healthy in the long run.

2 Likes

Unfortunately there is no kitchen where I live! :frowning:

1 Like

Welcome to Kaohsiung,@melanz95!
Try the many vegetarian cantinas that are usually run by Buddhist owners.

Thank you very much!

Oh great! I’ll try to find if I can find some around the university! Thanks

The buddhist vegetarian places are rarely healthy. Lots of cheap oil and proceased flour type things. But the buffets ypu can have a lot of choices. They are essencially like vegetarian lunch box shops.

Luckily kaohsiung has developed a lot i. Recent years and quite a few options now. Hard to comment though as healthy is broad and normally quite relative. Very little healthy food exists in taiwan from a purists point of view. But lots of oeganic shops popping up. Even with all the fake organic everywhere they should be at least half organic.

Dont drink the water in Kaohsiung :slight_smile:

Costco :+1:

Definitely don’t drink the water, Guinness is vegetarian and St Patricks Day is coming soon, a good excuse to try it.image

2 Likes

buffet place. you can choose what you want. all the cold sad vegetables you could ever wish for.