Employers for a PhD research engineer

I’m looking for potential employers in Taiwan in the fields of defense, aerospace or materials. I was educated in one of the top universities in the world. I have about 15+ years of R&D experience in defense. I am open to working at universities (as a researcher, less keen on lecturing), govt. institutes or companies, preferably in the Taipei area. I’m a Gold Card holder.

For now, I’m looking for contract work to test the relationship with the employer (probably something like 3 days/week) with clearly defined boundaries on Intellectual Property ownership (the employer only owns what I am paid to research). I would like to spend the remaining time setting up my own lab and getting funding to develop the next Unobtanium or autonomous drone swarm.

Furthermore, it is likely that my employer in my country of origin would also want me to work part time a year back home because I am needed for some ongoing and future projects. So I would probably be in Taiwan half of the year; to clock time towards Taiwanese PR on a Gold Card (185+ days/year, for 3 years), and half a year back in my country of origin.

I would consider working in the Taiwanese defense sector but it is not a given. I understand my requirements are a bit irregular. Basically I am keeping an open mind on everything and will weigh all options.

I would be most grateful for any pointers and tips :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Currently browsing headhunter websites.

Sooo… You want a part time, part of year, professional gig, where you’re working for another company, potentially in the same field, while you simultaneously work to set up yet another company, and you want them to agree to very advantageous to you ip rights? Hmmm, best of luck!

5 Likes

I am sorry I do not fit into any neat category.

I did outline the ideal, and also said there is room for flexibility on my part.