Employment Ideas in Taipei for Taiwanese raised abroad (ABC)

What are the options for a “semi-Taiwanese” person to work in Taipei? I’m in my late 20s, was raised in the States, hold a liberal arts degree. I was never schooled in Taiwan. I am a U.S./ROC dual citizen, so no work visa/ARC is required. I have fulfilled all conscription requirements.

I have native fluency in Mandarin (spoken). In terms of reading, I have a decent grasp of everyday characters for everyday life. For writing, I can type it out on my keyboard, but can’t really hand write without copying the characters directly. However, I can’t construct a fancy essay or formal language - more just chat room type of banter.

Please give me some tips and advice. I worked as a writer in the States. I don’t want to work at a cram school, and I understand there may be discrimination against Asians.

1 Like

I don’t mean to be pedantic but it sounds like you were born in Taiwan? If so, why do you call yourself “ABC”? More like TBC or TBT (Taiwan born Chinese or Taiwan born Taiwanese).

1 Like

I left when I was a toddler, so I never was schooled in Taiwan. I use “ABC” because it’s easier for people to understand. I was practically “American-born” since I left Taiwan so young.

Here is one for you, TBA (Taiwan born American).

Added: ARC or ART (American Raised Chinese/Taiwanese) is better?

Cannot you continue your current career?

You might want to list your relevant job skills and experience if you want useful advice (and don’t want to teach English).

open a fucking cafe like every other ABC does. Or a burger bar. Or a bar. Or a burger/bar/cafe. Or a restaurant. Make sure your friends sit outside vaping all day long.

2 Likes

That’s what I use. :wink:

Just makes me think of “to be announced.”