Exchange student : cost of life and accommodation

Hi everyone !
I am an upcoming french student in Hsinchu.
As I will be studying at NCTU for this next fall/spring semester(2018-2019), I am looking for some information about the cost of living in Hsinchu (transportation, food, everyday life, etc)
I am also wondering if it is better to find an accommodation before I come or when I arrive in the city. I will be there around the 6th September (the start of the school year is on 15th September)
If you have any student tips to share, I will be grateful ! Thanks in advance for your response :slight_smile:

Never book anything from abroad, except for a temporary hotel/hostel/airbnb while you look for something permanent.

Never look by yourself. Take a local or more seasoned foreigner. Document everything, do not sign anything you do not understand.

Can you come a little earlier? Most good places are gone by August.

Ask the university for help but generally speaking in housing they can offer dorm and advice, not much. Ther eis an organization called Tsui Mama, NGO, they can help a lot, quite reliable.
www.tmm.org.tw

Best of luck and welcome.

1 Like

Hi thank you for your response.
I am currently searching for a shared appartment, I am in touch with some real estate agent on facebook. I have already found roommates.
It was proposed to me some appartments, but one real estate agent told me that she doesn’t have any photos yet (instead they send me similar appartment, in the same bulding). What do you think about it?
Unfortunatly, I can not be in Hsinchu before september 7th, but my friends will be there at the end of August.

Here’s the budget I was having when I was living there last year: