Family of 4 wanting to move to Taiwan. Need input

Hello,

My wife and are considering a move to Taiwan within the next 2 years. I currently reside in California and make roughly $60K a year as a budget analyst. With the cost of living and housing market skyrocketing in California, I think it would be a great opportunity to move to Taiwan, where the living expenses are relatively cheaper. My wife and I have 2 boys, ages 2 and 5 months. The 2 year old is the main reason why we would like to move no later than 2 years, to give him the time to pick up Mandarin before entering into school.

After some initial research, my wife and I are in agreement that Kaohsiung would be an ideal location to start. I have a 4-year degree and am open to the idea of teaching English until I can pick up the language and apply for a higher paying job. From what I have found, an English teacher’s salary may not be enough to support my family until I can land a better job. The main questions I have are:

1. What is the average cost of living for a family of 4 in Kaohsiung renting a 2-bedroom apartment?

2. If I were to teach English full-time, would I be able to supplement my salary with additional work? I would much prefer my wife to stay home until both kids have entered into school.

3. What would the initial start-up cost be for the move (not including airfare, Visas). My plan is to get into a teaching contract before the move. I am trying to gauge the cost of what we would need to secure an apartment and survive on during the initial month of work, including potential basic furnishing.

4. My wife is a Philippine national with a green card. She should have an American passport by the time we decide to move. Will she be able to teach English? If not, what type of job market can she expect in Taiwan?