Fellow Forumosa Fanatics: Questions on my Aspirations to be an English Teacher

Hello (早) fellow Taiwan[ese] enthusiasts, current teachers, residents, alike! I, villanelle, have been looking around this forum for a while and decided to join on the account that I can share my interests in this island just as you do, and very much would like to be a teacher of English in the future. I have a few questions, but please bear with me as I try not to type too much…

I would like to start with a personal account for clarity’s sake:

I am currently a citizen and resident in the United States of Caribbean descent. As of August, I have a BA in Neuroscience from a top 50 University (not that it matters… excuse me if that’s crass). I have initially wanted to pursue a non-teaching, STEM career on the island, but coming from a family of [language] teachers I wanted to switch gears and make a respective change in a plethora of motivated students’ lives. I very much enjoy the idea of teaching and from being in University I have had positive feedback when giving seminars and such.

I am on my second year of learning Chinese and have gotten to the intermediate level of reading/speaking/writing (I’m working on listening!) and hopefully by late 2019 I would have decent, business-level ability for getting around. I understand that Chinese is not allowed in classrooms but I figure being able to converse with my superiors/co-workers will be indispensable, outside of everyday life. The need for Chinese mastery seems obligatory to me given this is a country with a generally homogenous population.