First Job in Taiwan

Hello everyone. I am very new to this forum but hope you can answer some of my questions.

I’ve been teaching English in Bangkok for the last 2 1/2 years. I am a 23 year old American. I have a CELTA and an AA. I would like to move to Taiwan to teach, and have recently been applying for jobs. So, not surprisingly I have many questions. Sorry if they’ve been done to death, but here goes:

1. Is it legal to teach with an AA + CELTA, but no BA?

2. Is 60k per month the best I can expect for my first job?

3. Is Hsin Chu a nice city?

4. Is it a good idea to use a recruiter? I would like to secure a job before I come.

5. How easy/difficult is it for Thai people to visit Taiwan? I’d like to bring my g/f, if possible.

Thanks in advance for any replies. I am looking to come in July/August, so any information I can get before than will be greatly appreciated.

Here goes:

No, you have to have a university degree from a university recognized by the Taiwanese government to be legal.

2. Is 60k per month the best I can expect for my first job?

No, you can earn quite a bit more. But 60K is a nice start.

1. Is Hsinchu (Xinzhu) a nice city?

Yes, but a little less developed and rural compared to Taipei.

1. Is it a good idea to use a recruiter? I would like to secure a job before I come.

Sometimes, but most places having openings all the time. Teachers come and go all the time.

1. How easy/difficult is it for Thai people to visit Taiwan? I’d like to bring my g/f, if possible.

There shouldn’t be any difficultly.

[quote=“MotorcycleRider”]Here goes:

No, you have to have a university degree from a university recognized by the Taiwanese government to be legal.

[/quote]

Actually, you can get a work permit with an AA and tesl. Some places may not hire you and/ or may not be aware that they can sponsor you, but it’s possible to get a work permit all the same.