Flash Cards -- Do they really work when learning to read?

A buddy of mine has been pushing me to go hardcore with
the flash cards to learn to recognize, read and recall chinese characters.

My questions are as follows:

1. What is the best way to use the cards, method, frequency…?
  2. How many of you have used them with success? Tips?
  3. Is there software for Windows that I could download and print out my own cards?

Any advice would be appreciated. I have been speaking chinese for several years, but need to rely on pin yin. Would be nice to be able to read some signs and hopefully, the newspaper one day.

Thanks. :wink:

I never bothered with flash cards. I just used the sit down and write out the characters many times method.

If you live in Taiwan and already speak Chinese I would suggest the following way to learn. Learn the name of all the streets and districts in the city you live in. You will see these characters often and they will be easily reinforced.

Also learn the basic characters such as I, you, with, this, that, what, etc.

After you have done this you should know 200-300 characters which is a good starting point for building up your knowledge.

Another thing. It’s very useful to learn the names/meanings of the common radicals. That way instead of thinking “box with a horizontal line in the middle”, you just have to think “sun” and so on…

I had a different experience than wix99. I found flashcards to be extremely helpful in learning to read Mandarin.

My advice:

Find a set of 1000-1500 of the most common characters, take a portion of them out each day (20-30) and review them throughout the day. There are many short periods of time throughout the day (e.g. riding on bus, waiting in line, using the bathroom) when you can review the day’s characters. Review them once more before you go to sleep at night. When you have gone through the entire box, review them again. By the third cycle, they should all be pretty familiar.