Getting a work permit in the UK

I put this here because I don’t know where to put it.

I read somewhere here (can’t remember where) that it’s relatively easy to get a work permit in the UK. Does anyone have any more information on this? Useful links work too.

I’m currently working in the US government. I have a master’s in applied mathematics and I know R and Python.

I went to (mostly Eastern) Europe last summer, and had a good time and would like to move there. UK makes the most sense because of language.

It’s not easy from what I was told. Naturalization is probably Easier from what I understand. However you might have a better chance as now EU citizens will also need to go through tier 2 visa unless they’ve applied for settlement before the end of this year.

I’m sure it’s easier than some, but definitely not easy unless you’re talking about a company who is sending you there. Sponsorship is hard to find.

UK is in the process of allowing international student who graduated in the UK to stay and work on a 2 year visa before the virus hit. No new news on it during this but it is planned for graduates of 2021 class. The idea is to make up for EU students not coming. Not a bad idea to draw more talent all over the world besides the EUropean mainland. I will say it certainly is working as that’s what I’m going for.

1 Like

What’s your current situation? are you employed? are you studying in the UK? Why the UK.

Unless a company is sending you, getting a work permit in the UK is very difficult.
It might be a bit easier if you are pretty good at math, engineering, or STEM subjects in general; as there is a bit of a local shortage of these skills. But even then, it’s not guaranteed.

Naturalisation is completely different, you need to have lived in the country for 5 (sometimes 6 years) already and it will cost you about 1,600GBP (2,000USD)

1 Like

do you mean to switch to tier 2 visa in the UK?

1 Like

Thanks. I need to be more specific in my OP.