Good place to go to get fitted for contact lens newbie?

I want contact lenses but since I’ve never tried them before, I want to go somewhere that won’t jsut give me the box and send me on my laowai way.

Anyone know a decent opthomologist around?
Anywhere central Taipei is ok from Tianmu -> Neihu -> Xinyi -> Gonguan whatever

Also I need new glasses (with lenses). I have my lens Rx so anywhere NHI that will just make them, fit me, and send me on my way is fine. Know places? There are like 5 on Shida Rd alone but do those places take NHI? They seem more like just retail shops for glasses… like fashion stuff rather than actual Rx…

[quote=“Lili”]I want contact lenses but since I’ve never tried them before, I want to go somewhere that won’t jsut give me the box and send me on my laowai way.

Anyone know a decent opthomologist around?
Anywhere central Taipei is ok from Tianmu -> Neihu -> Xinyi -> Gongguan whatever

Also I need new glasses (with lenses). I have my lens Rx so anywhere NHI that will just make them, fit me, and send me on my way is fine. Know places? There are like 5 on Shi-Da Rd alone but do those places take NHI? They seem more like just retail shops for glasses… like fashion stuff rather than actual Rx…[/quote]

You can try checking out that place near the police station at gongguan. It’s inside the Leeco outlet shopping mall [googlemaps][/googlemaps]. They give a student discount to NTU students and maybe other students as well.

Leeco 禮客時尚館
02 2362 5556
No. 16號思源街 Jhongjheng District, Taipei City, 100
m.google.com.tw/u/m/d1dcvO

I’m not sure what Lili means, but NHI doesn’t cover glasses. You have to pay for them fully.

In my student days I used to go to one kitty corner of Jinmei night market, their prices were quite good, service very attentive.

Lilli, if you have the prescription, you can also buy bulk disposables at Costco. Most people do that here because with teh air pollution, it is better if you change your contacts promptly.