Got fired for asking my school to use standard international units in their science book

So I live in Taiwan and work as an English teacher, but I have a PhD in mathematics, so I am a legitimate scientist. We’re doing a summer camp all about science next week when I noticed that the amounts given for the experiments were in “cups” and “fluid ounces”.

I’m British, not American, so I don’t know what that means anyway, but I said that it should be in ml and grams to make it scientific.

Problem was all the books had been printed, so I suggested that I would change the amounts to ml myself to save anyone else extra work. That was no good because it would make the parents think the school was unprofessional.

So in the end I relented but said I needed o change my copy because I don’t know what the American measurements mean.

That evening I get a letter saying I’m fired because insisting on doing things the “British way” was a “red flag” and being against “American” English would be a big problem for the future.

So now I’m having to find a new job at very short notice, not to mention I only started working for this school 5 weeks ago and had to use most of my savings moving here.

I’m basically in a very difficult situation because if I have to move I not only lose my deposit on my current apartment, I need to pay another 2 months rent to get a new one, not to mention the hassle of moving.

I spoke to a lawyer. Turns out the firing was completely illegal under Taiwanese law. First of all if I’m failing in some manner they are required to give me a reasonable amount of time to improve. 3 hours is not reasonable. Secondly, they cannot terminate a contract without due cause, e.g. if I clearly cannot perform the duties assigned by my employer, which obviously is not the case for me. So I’m suing for wrongful termination.

14 Likes