Having Friendly Conversations with Taiwanese Co-Workers as a Returnee from Abroad

I (29M) was born in Taiwan, but only lived here for a few years before I moved to the US. I returned to Taiwan about 4 years ago. I currently work as an account manager in Taipei.

Honestly, I’m lost as to how to have conversations with Taiwanese co-workers. My Mandarin has gotten a lot better compared to when I first returned to Taiwan a few years ago; however, I still speak slower than most people here. I notice that some people at work get irritated and/or uninterested when I’m speaking in Mandarin. It also seems like that the conversations also do not get very far as in my topics often don’t interest them at all. What’s your perspective?

1. they no longer take you as 100% or even 50% Taiwanese. Once you left, you lowered yourself on society’s totem pole.
  2. they probably think your salary is much higher than theirs
  3. what are the topics of your conversations? if they don’t include standing in line 5 hours to get NT$100 after a vaccine shot or what new LINE sticker you bought, you’re sheet out of luck.

Welcome back, your (parents’) dreams were your ticket out
Welcome back, to that same old place that you laughed about

Well the names have all changed since you hung around
But those dreams have remained and they’ve turned around…

11 Likes

Can I PM you?

sure. As long as you like 70s tv shows.

3 Likes

Stock market, money, houses, cars, kids, in this order. Maybe how much you love your mom?

5 Likes

I did bring up investing in the stock market on a few occasions, but it turns out that almost no one at my workplace invests.

It makes socially interacting more with your colleagues difficult.

1 Like

My conversations with my Taiwanese coworkers usually end after a few sentences.

Try baseball, basketball, badminton …