Health Care legalities

From what I have gathered from the Taiwan National Health care website is that your employer must provide healthcare. ( pay 60% of the cost) Well, my employer has yet to do anything about my healthcare (I’ve had my ARC for 4 months)and I have several times brought up the issue. So, what can I do? How can I pressure him LEGALLY to get me my healthcare card?

Can you offer some more background information on your situation? What is your nationality? Visa status? What kind of work are you doing? Is this a legal job?
Have you called the Bureau of National Health Insurance to complain?

Well as of today I am not working for the ST. George Language school in Taichung. I was a teacher, American, female, with work permit and ARC(all gained through the school). As far as I know the school is legal. When I spoke to my employer he said that Taiwanese bosses sometimes withold some of the benefits ie. healthcare from their employees. He said that he would consider giving me healthcare at the end of the semester but because of some “internal tax reasons” he could not. The whole situation has been really horrible. Hartzell, because I was fired/quit how long do I have to leave the island? I have heard three days. I would really appreciate your response. Today has been hell.

I would suggest that you call the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Bureau of Consular Affairs for a clarification.

I provide the following contact telephone numbers for MOFA BOCA:
Taipei (02) 2343 2895
Taichung (04) 2222 2799
Kaohsiung (07) 211 0605
Hualien (038) 330953

Also, you should ask the Foreign Affairs Division of your local Police Department.

However, please remember, being fired is one thing, and whether or not your employer has reported your new “job status” (or “lack of job status”) to the authorities is something else.