Help! visa disaster

I am currently studying in Taipei on a visitor visa and last week I had to go to Hong Kong for 2 days for a job interview. On applying for a visa in HK to let me back into Taiwan, I was charged the full sum (plus express service handling fee!) and then refused a visa, as my proof of address in the UK was too old. I did explain that I’d been living in Taipei for nearly 6 months so I had no more recent proof of address in the UK, but was not able to persuade them.

I’m now back in Taipei with no visa (UK citizens seem to be entitled to 30 days visa-free). What I need to know is: is there any way on earth to get the visitor visa here in Taiwan? Or, in the worst case scenario, if I have to leave the country again, where would be cheapest and fastest for me to go? If I miss more than 10 hours of class I lose my scholarship to study here!! Suggestions please - I am in despair! Thank you so much.

Try getting help from your school. My info is old but I don’t think you can turn the 30 day landing visa in Tw into any extended visa without an emergency.

I’m not sure if Naha is any better but I would gather as much documentation as you can and your school should provide you with help and letters confirming your status.

You have a scholarship and they won’t give you a visa? That’s crazy. And what’s this proof of address business? I’ve never been asked for that.

The guy in charge of the visa office in Hong Kong is an asshole. And he’s famous for it. He is quite well known for making up stuff and refusing visas to people who are clearly entitled to them. This proof of address shit is just something he’s made up because he doesn’t want to give you a visa.

For example, he refused my wife a visitor visa even though she’s been living in Taiwan for two years with me and I have an ARC. He just felt like it. “Fuck you”, he thought, “You’re not getting a visa. HAHAHA!”