How could I start?

Last month I ran a half marathon, that strikes off something from my “bucket list”.

Another thing would be to practice fighting or martial arts. Taipei without COVID might be the perfect place for this.
I’m 33 years old, a little overweight but still somewhat athletic. My half marathon time was 2 hours ~ 10 minutes (they say a good “novice” time is under 2 hours). I liked running because it’s something I can easily do alone. I eat too much, but also I feel more anxiety than usual when dieting, so I should exercise somehow for my entire life. And I’m not very competitive, but I think personal safety is motivating and also overcoming fear or trying new things. I work as an engineer. I’ve lived in Taipei for 2 years, have a contract for 1 more year, hopefully many more I think.

One of my Taiwanese friends (a bit distant) goes to a class at a gym. I thought why not ask around here before doing something like that. I don’t really like gym memberships. Going outside is usually nicer and the public parks have pull-up bars and things.

Perhaps I should learn a more aggressive attitude, try lots of things. I think I could ask instructors for free intro evaluating classes, right?

4 Likes

Congrats on the half marathon. 2:10 is a very good time, IMO.

Watching this thread. Learning some sort of martial art has long been on my to-do list and I’ve just never got around to it. The main thing that puts me off is that it seems to be a very expensive hobby - good trainers are not cheap, particularly since trainers and gyms are generally packaged together by contractual obligations.

Just a thought: you’re probably not “eating too much”, and feeling anxiety while dieting is completely normal, mainly because it’s pointless and unpleasant. If you’re a bit overweight you’re just eating too many of the wrong things (and perhaps messing up your metabolism by dieting).

1 Like