How difficult is it to find a legit position in Taipei?

I’ve been going back and forth on coming to Taiwan to teach English for a few months now. Largely because I wanted to be 100% sure about it and fully committed. I’ve finally got to that point, so now I’m trying to figure out what to do next. I have a 4-year degree, but no certification or teaching experience. I applied with Hess online, got an initial response asking for pictures, copy of my degree, etc., but shortly after sending them everything I got a response telling me I wasn’t selected for further consideration or something. If everything goes as planned, I should have between $4500-5000 (US) put back by mid-late November, so I figure I have two options…

1. Fly over, stay in a hostel or something, and look for a position when I’m actually there.
  2. Use a good chunk of that money to get certified with a program that offers job placement assistance.

My preference would be option #1. If I do that, my plan would be teach for a year (or whatever the initial contract is) to see if it’s something I could see myself doing long-term, and if so, then I’d take a vacation to get certified. However, I’m worried that I’ll get over there and not be able to find a job before my visitor visa expires. Which brings me to my question: how difficult is it to find a legit position in Taipei? I’d be open to going to another city instead, but Taipei is the largest, so I figure that would be my best bet. If not, then where would be?

Bonus question: What in the world should I be putting on a TEFL resume? I know what to put on a “normal” resume, but without certification or teaching experience to list, I’m at a bit of a loss as to what I should be putting on a resume for a TEFL position.

Seems to be that doing a CELTA course is the best thing before you come to teach here, if you have the time to do that first.

Other teachers seem to think it’s really useful before you start teaching.