How do I "prove" that I have lived in the US for 5 years?

I asked AIT and as usual, they were less than helpful sent a reply and hoping to get a decent answer back from them. This is what they sent:

I’ve only ever had one Passport, my current one, which I got in order to come to Taiwan. I don’t want to pay for transcripts and I don’t believe Uni’s will send them to a person. I haven’t bothered to keep tax records as most have been past the 10 year limit. I have no work record that I could call on. The only things that I can think of are my old driver’s license, I was also born outside of the US so my birth certificate is not all that handy either.

I have my high school diploma from my US high school and my approved passport application with my US address at the time. I also have letters going to my current American address and I have my AZ driver’s license. Would this be sufficient? What about a notarized letter from my mother in the US attesting to the fact that I have lived in the US for 25 years?

I don’t understand how I prove something like this having lived 8+ years outside the US. I’m also afraid of AIT doing a shifting standards. Agree to something by email, but turn it down in person.

usually, things like bank accounts, phone bills, power bills, rental agreements, mortgages, etc., drivers license, credit card bills, with your name and address on the bills. And it wouldn’t be just one document (e.g. the bank account doesn’t prove residency), but the totality of all those bills and such would show someone that you “were there”. (of course, this could be a phantom thing, but that’s if the guy gets suspicious).