How is China using TikTok in Taiwan?

Do any of you know about pro-chinese videos on tiktok produced to affect opinions on the conflict between China and Taiwan?

I am a danish/netherlands based guest artist working in Taiwan. During my stay I heard a lot of talk about taiwanese responses to chinas political use of tiktok.

I also heard that tiktok in taiwan is showing videos promoting pro-chinese oppinions on Taiwans independence.

I am very curious to see how such videos looks like if they exist, but most of my friends and people I meet dont use tiktok, and tell about these videos without being able to show them. I personally dont feel like opening a tiktok account but as a part of my media interest I am very curious to see how these videos are created, what visual tools they use etc.

Do any of you know about pro-chinese videos on tiktok produced to affect opinions on the conflict between China and Taiwan?

And do you know how to watch without getting a tiktok account?

I am curious because I am aware of the power of tiktok and want to understand pro-chinese media rethorics - not because I want to share them around.

1 Like

thank you for sharing this video Zaowangyeh!

1 Like

Trying to dig some specific videos up for you, but like you, I won’t download the tiktok app. I just watched one that gave examples about how they use it to target the western mind. Let me know if you want me to drop it here. I don’t want to clog up your thread with stuff that is not specific to Taiwan.

I see them occasionally.

Influencers pedaling Chinese perspectives for whatever particular benefit may they may be getting donations or subs or maybe Chinese government funding.

Tiktok it’s so well managed that it, algorithm and other things, will target people that might be easier influenced.

So some people may never see them some people may see them occasionally in some may see them frequently.