How is Taiwan different from China?

By way of background, I’m a licensed teacher who has taught in several countries, including China and, for the last two years, Taiwan. After finishing a two-year contract for one of the few IB World Schools here, I decided to take a break to complete a second master’s degree program before (hopefully) landing a position at an international school abroad.

In the meantime, I have been offered teaching positions at Taiwanese public schools, private schools, and cram schools, and I’ve been appalled at the lack of ethics that is openly on display. It’s my understanding that teaching kindergarten English is illegal, as is offering to sponsor an ARC for less than 14 hours of work per week, yet I’ve been offered both. I have friends who have taught at cram schools, and I’ve heard the horror stories. It’s amazing to me that every precaution one has to take when teaching in China seemingly applies to teaching in Taiwan as well.

So, how is Taiwan actually any different than China?

We don’t make tennis players disappear.
:man_shrugging:
:wink:
:taiwan:#1 :+1:

In all seriousness though, you have to sort through the bad to find the good when it comes to jobs, apartments, and decent pizza places here.

For every couple shady employers, there’s a decent one out there.

Your qualifications more than shield you from having to take any nefarious jobs here. Just ignore them and go for the better ones.

14 Likes

When I was China, foreigners were well received and enjoyed decent status in China. Now it’s pretty hostile towards foreigners with Chinese nationalism. And the myth of covid being from the west is widely accepted by the public.

Taiwan has some issue with foreigners bringing in the virus but I wouldn’t say hostile.

1 Like

With your qualifications, you shouldn’t be dealing with garbage employers.

Guy

2 Likes