How long did it take you to find work?

I’m graduating at the end of the year with a Bachelor’s degree from Australia, and am planning to work in Taiwan next year.

I intend to work for HESS, as I am slightly uncomfotable with the idea of landing in Taiwan without knowing anyone, and without a job lined up. I posted about this earlier, and one member suggested that I do wait until I arrive before searching for work.

I was wondering about other people’s opinions on the matter? I have no teaching experience, and am also a FBC (which I believe puts me at a slight disadvantage). For those who have done it, how long did it take to get work?

Thanks!!

If you have no experience, you likely won’t get a job immediately, unless you get very lucky. I might not be the best example because I came in the middle of a semester but it took me about two months to line up a full day’s work. My classes pay 600 NT an hour and are at decent schools. The only job I could have gotten within a week of being here was one with a company that I have since heard nothing but crap about. Also, within the two months I was looking, I did demos at schools that wanted to put me on salary and pay me far less than 600 NT an hour. My advice is that those who come without a job lined up should have enough cash to get by for at least of month without being paid and should expect to fight for good jobs. That said, I’ve also heard of people just being in the right place at the right time and landing a sweet job without trying too hard.

took me two weeks, second interview I went to, and then I worked at the place for 5 years… go figure.

Cheers!

Daryl

I had no experience, and I found a job with Kojen 2 days after arriving here. Picked up a second job a couple of weeks later.

A year later, I still love both jobs and have no regrets. Don’t want to be anywhere else.