How long did you study to pass TOCFL?

Starting from zero, and after studying Mandarin full time for about 480 hours (3 semesters at 160 hours/semester) in Taiwan, I tried the TOCFL band B. I passed the reading part for level 3, but was short by 11 points for the listening part.

The TOCFL states that it takes about 360 hours of study in Taiwan to pass the level 3. In retrospect, I can say that grammar and vocabulary were fairly easy, but I was way too slow.

I was definitely not the worst student in my class, and I was quite diligent, so I am surprised that given the number of hours I studied, I failed the level 3. What’s wrong?

What’s wrong is that they have no idea about language learning. It’s not just a case of understanding the grammar and recognizing the vocab, but about the ability to make sense of strings of speech sounds. Obviously, part of this is knowing all the words in the speech stream, but not all. It takes time, and how much is difficult to pin down, for individuals. Listening skills are rarely taught well, and is often used just to exemplify vocab and structures in context, in textbooks.

You’ll get there. Hope you aren’t too disappointed. Just 'cos you failed a crappy test (I make crappy tests for a living), it doesn’t mean you are doing great with your studies.

1 Like

When I studied HSK in China, I felt my spoken Chinese and functional fluency was way better than my Korean classmates. The Koreans were amazing at the HSK and I couldnt keep up, no matter how much I tried. The reason for this is partly similarities between Korean and Chinese but more the fact that Koreans had spent their lives preparing standardized tests and the test was taught and written by people who had also spent their lives learning languages through similar tests. So there