How long have you studied Mandarin?

Just to let folks have a feeling for the people participating in the forum, how long have y’all been cracking the books (or chatting up the neighbors) to learn Mandarin?

I studied two years of Mandarin at the University of Pennsylvania, in Philadelphia, graduating in 1974 with a B.S. in Economics. I worked for a year before coming to Taiwan in the Fall of 1975, and did not study during that time. I have always actively studied here in Taiwan, although a few years after getting married to a local lady I began to more and more direct my inquiries for language assistance to her, or her co-workers. I also now have some part-time secretaries who help me with proofreading my Chinese compositions. So counting my twenty-six years in Taiwan and two at the university, I calculate that I have been studying Mandarin for 28 years.

quote:
Originally posted by ironlady: Just to let folks have a feeling for the people participating in the forum, how long have y'all been cracking the books (or chatting up the neighbors) to learn Mandarin?

I hope you don’t expect the answers will tell you for how long one has to learn to be a Master of Mandarin™. As I wrote in my comment to the voting, one can start learning a language, but it is impossible to complete that study. So if I hear someone say he/she learnt a language for a few years at university and that was all to do to be enlightened then my mostly harmless response is doubt.
I started to learn in 91, as a result of some kind of impact Taiwan made on me. Probably I should mention that I’m an interpreter, with one of my two working languages being Mandarin, so I’m not playing in the “amateur league”. I had to reach a certain level within a certain time, but even then one can’t sit down and say “That’s it, now I know all of Chinese.”
So, basically, I’ve been learning Mandarin (under several circumstances) for almost eleven years now. And if you ask me next year, I will tell you its twelve years…