How many expats in Taiwan send their kids to Bilingual or International schools?

I am a local. I studied in a Municipal Vocational Technical High School. My parents could afford to send me to a Bilingual School. But, I don’t have plans to study or move abroad. I work in Taiwan. I am a nurse. Those Bilingual Schools cost between 700,000NT-1,000,000NT a year. Do you think it is necessary for your kids? Some Public and Municipal schools aren’t bad in Taiwan.

They’re not that expensive. Taipei European School works out around 50k a month. I’m sending my kid there next year assuming she gets in. Retirement’s for losers.

3 Likes

50K a month? Well, 600,000NT a year plus materials. I think you should do what you think it is the best for your kids. I made my own decision not going. My sister is a CPA accountant in USA. She didn’t go to Bilingual Schools, too.

I send my kids to the local elementary school, I want them to learn great Chinese and be comfortable here. As for junior high, lots to think about.

I also don’t send my kids to buxibans and let them watch fox family movies and read some books instead, that kind of stuff . But I would consider some kind of buxibans if necessary . I myself went to a buxiban in high school.but just one morning a week.

I couldn’t really afford to send my kids to TES even if I wanted to, I don’t have 1-2 million ntd.a year to spare , I need to save as much as possible. Probably I would move back to my homeland if I need them to get a different education and better English. I am considering it.

4 Likes

How’s their English now? Is the only place they hear English at home from you? Is having one (or both) parents speak English at home enough for the kids to learn/speak English fluently without accents?

Is bilingual school really needed if the parents speak English?

I can and I can’t afford TES. Thus the joke about never retiring.

2 Likes