How to Attend Computex?

Hi:

Does anyone know what I need to attend
Computex at WTC?

I’m a local professional, can I just
buy a ticket to enter?

I plan to go this Friday, would it be ok?

Thanks,

Please post the hours too, if you know them. Is there retail going on there, or just wholesale, schmoozing, and display?

Computex 2002
http://www.taipeitradeshows.com.tw/computex/
June 3-7; 9:00AM-5:00PM (4:00PM on Friday)

I’ve been to the show six times, and here is my experience:

1. Free admission to overseas guests (it’s not good enough to just be a foreigner). You gernally need a business card to prove it. Any will do. They are inclined to reject free admission if you have Chinese printed on your card or speak Chinese with the on-site registration people, even if you look like a foreigner to them.

2. If you look Chinese, they will discriminate against you, meaning that you better not have the slightest scent of being a local or a resident. Otherwise, they will try to charge you admission. My advice is to bring a foreign passport as backup. Again, do NOT speak Chinese or present a card with Chinese on it.

3. Otherwise, if you are clearly a foreigner, like white or indian or black, etc., you can do what I’ve done when I forgot my pass: Just walk quickly through the guarded gates and entrances. They are generally too embarrassed to make sure you have a badge.

4. I’ve never tried to buy my way into the show, but I “hear” that you can buy a ticket.

Computex is not a great place to buy stuff. That is more suited for the local computer show that already happened this year. However, there are a few booths that sell, in my opinion, assorted junk. Don’t expect to be buying too many complete computer systems. Most manufacturers and traders are in the business of low-cost computer components, peripherals and integrated systems. If you are looking for a scanner, USB hub, EPROM programmer, etc., you might get lucky.