How to get into biking

Thinking about getting into mountain biking. I’m a total beginner. Was hoping to get some advise to help me get started

I’m in Xinyi, near Elephant mountain. Are there any good mountain biking trail near me? or something easy to get to (I don’t have a car)

What is a good bike to get started? Should I just get a cheap bike from Decathlon?

I thought about road biking too but the riverside bike path always seems really packed. So I thought mountain biking will be better.

2 Likes

Specific mountain biking near you would be the gas plant trail which is real single track. I wouldn’t do it as a first ride.

But to start with you can’t go wrong with the cemetery road and Fudekeng park area.

Also the whole Maokong area is fun to ride around. Some real steep stuff.

You might want to get a gravel bike as a compromise. Talk to the Alexes at Taipei Bike Shop.

4 Likes

I’d like to get into biking again. I used to do 100 miles without any effort 25 years ago.

Building up to it…

I don’t want to be the middle age guy who buys a really expensive bike.

1 Like

I’ve just started back after six years and 15 kgs off the bike.

Hardest thing I’ve ever done. In hindsight it might have been easier if I hadn’t have bought what for all intents and purposes is a pro racing bike. But fuck it, I want that buzz.

Edit: pro but ten years old so quite cheap.

1 Like

Just get a youbike and work your way up… they’re really cheap to use.

1 Like

I’ll give one of those a try.

See you at the Tour de France

Quarantine allowing

My impression is that Taipei (actually Taiwan in general) is not exactly a mountain biking paradise. The roads that would be gravel in Europe or America, are exceptionally paved here, or at least they have a concrete surface. Single tracks are usually super steep, filled with stairs or more crowded with walkers than many of the city streets.