How to negotiate a salary for a new job

I’ve worked in Taiwan before, but just accepted whatever I was given and never had to negotiate, so this is totally new to me. Not only do I not know how best to negotiate a salary in Taiwan, but I also don’t know what sort of pay I can expect.

I’m currently interviewing for a technical writing manager job for a tech company in Taipei. I have several years’ senior technical writing experience and I’m a Gold Card holder currently in London.

1. Does anybody know what sort of salary I can realistically expect for the job above with my experience?
  2. When negotiating, is it expected to start with a salary higher than I’d expect or is this not a tactic people use in Taiwan and might put them off hiring me?
  3. Is it normal in Taiwan that you must go through the entire interview process in several stages and with several tests before you can discuss salary and benefits, or is it just this particular company?
  4. Any other tips for negotiating a salary that are specific to Taiwan?

Would like to input on this more but it’s been a while.
Yes its hard to get salary info out of them but push to see what they are offering. Expect it’s not good if they haven’t mentioned anything. They might say its good for Taiwan whatever that means.

Sometimes going high at start puts you out of the picture if they are very arrogant, but not always.
It’s unpredictable. Its up to you in the end.

Sometimes they will go along with your request by trying to cut it later by putting more in variable bonsues vs performance, which you should resist. I had a job fall through because of this underhanded tactic.

Negotiate for the full annual salary , keep as much of it as fixed salary as possible especially given your role.

Dont quit your job yet., let them know your seroius about moving and will move when agreed, but this way they know you have options.

3 Likes