Huayu Enrichment Scholarship 2020 - Finding Friends

Hi everyone! My name is Grace, I’m 25 and have just recieved my admission letter from NTU (CLD) to begin in Fall 2020. I’m still waiting to hear back if I am accepted for Huyau Enrichement Scholarship from my local Taiei Representaive Office. I’m looking for anyone else who will be in Taipei around this time who may want to team up for searching for apartments / hang out in Taipei? I’m hoping to move there a month earlier to get to know Taiwan.

2 Likes

Hello Grace! My name is Catherine and I am interested to apply for the HES for this fall. However I havent applied for any Uni yet. Do you mind to share your reasons to choose NTU of all the other unis? Thanks :joy:

Hi Cat! I applied to three Universities for Mandarin courses: NTU (CLD), NCCU, and NTNU. I chose these three becase they are all based in Taipei, which is where I would like to live when I complete the course. I’m a complete beginner of Mandarin, and it didn’t really matter to me so much as I’ve heard beginners classes is similar in many Mandarin schools in the big cities. I like NTU specifically because of a) its reputation as a very good university in Asia, 2) the small class sizes, (around 5-7 people), 3) good reviews from people who studied there as beginners and 4) the sports centre on campus (I like to swim :slight_smile: ). There are some good threads on this forum comparing different schools - I think a big factor is what your current level of Mandarin is. People who are have studied it a bit already tend to be more selective. Are you also a beginner?

You applied for these 3 schools and have they all admitted you as a student? I am not really familiar with the requirements here. I thought we can only apply for 1 school. I am also a beginner, I have taken HSK2 before, but I think Taiwan-HSK has a different difficulties with China-HSK. Where do you live right now?