I need help to find myself

Hello everyone.

I’m currently a canadian resident, but I have been adopted from Taiwan.
I would like to know more about my origin and my country of birth.

My taiwanese name is Chi-Yu Cheng and my place of birth was Maoli Hsien.
Also I don’t look like the typical Han, I wonder if my birthplace can say something about my ethnicity.

Also, does Chiu-Yu means something?

Thank you very much, this is very important to me.

Most of Miaoli County is a stronghold of Hakka speakers. Hakka is a subgroup of Han though. There’s not a very large aboriginal presence there (1.9% according to Wiki) but there’s been a lot of intermarriage over the years which can show.

Without the Chinese characters for your name, it wouldn’t be possible to know the meaning.

Like tempo said, being from Miaoli, there’s a much better average chance that you are from the Hakka ethnic group http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hakka,

If you don’t look Han, you may have aboriginal genes, either Saisat http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saisiat or Atayal en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atayal_people

Good luck with your quest

Hey snowymat, I don’t have any answers for you, but I just wanted to wish you the best of luck. There are a lot of knowledgeable people on here, so hopefully they can help you find out a bit more about your origins.

[color=#004000]***Mod’s note:
Photos of identification documents containing personal information was removed from this post
-TGM 03/06/2014
------
[/color]
Thank you for your quick answers.
I can’t find my taiwanese name, since I can’t read the characters.
Thank you again.

I think I don’t look Han because I have double eyes lid and my eyes aren’t very slanted. Also my nose is not as flat as some of my “han looking” friends.

But maybe I’m wrong, I’m not very familiar with asians people ethnic look