I want to use my bank, not my school's!

I just started working at a new school.
Although I already have an account, my boss insists I open a bank account at her bank, a local cooperative.
She says this is because of recent laws limiting the amounts one can transfer between banks, so she’d rather I use her bank so she can deposit my pay easier and in full. Does this sound ok? As I’m new at her school, I’m still figuring out the extent to which I can trust her (which is, so far so good, knock on wood).

I’d rather not open a new account, as I’ll just be taking the money out and putting it in my other, more convenient bank the same day.

Can I insist on not doing it? Or on cash payment?

Thanks.

This is fairly standard procedure here; nothing “scaly” about it.

My old school made us open an account with a certain bank, and then when they decided to change to a new bank, we had to open accounts there too.

At my new job it’s the same. It’s easier (and no doubt much cheaper as intRA-bank transfers are free or almost so) if your account is with the same bank.

So yes, it’s a hassle for us and a time-waster (especially if you can’t read Chinese to figure out what the bank form needs), but it’s a small issue to fight over, in my opinion, and if it’s really going to make their lives easier, and save them that NT$17 each week / 2 weeks / month, I suggest you pick up an application form at the bank and get your school’s admin ppl to fill / help fill it in for you. It’s not worth arguing over for 30 mins when that’s how long it would take to open the account. (This I figured out after arguing with my old school’s “accountant” in exactly this way).

[quote=“ugaluga”]Can I insist on not doing it? Or on cash payment?
Thanks.[/quote]
You can try to negotiate anything you wish, but it may not work of course.