I'm a young professional and met a former? "KTV 小姐"

I am a 24 year old young professional (Chinese American) who just moved to Taipei for a job with Acer and I met a girl working as a clerk while I was getting a new cellphone plan from a store. She told me she could show me around Taipei (a thinly disguised date…). So I went along. No money spent. I asked her out on 2 more dates with her. It’s been 1 month now.

On the third date, she claimed that she worked as a KTV 小姐 and she had already left it for quite some time. She’s a nursing student and a PT clerk. She has shown me her coursework, transcript, textbooks, etc.

I haven’t really gone out with her since then, since I don’t know what to make of the whole thing. Right now, I am just taking it cautiously. She said she wanted to be honest with me and asked if she was already my girlfriend and if I could give her a chance to prove that she is trustworthy. I gave a noncommittal answer and told her something like we’ll see what happens as time goes by. I just try to play it cool and tread carefully.

Anyway, she still calls me everyday. Not long after meeting her, she offered to make me 便當 everyday for work, help me with buying groceries from traditional markets, getting documents in order at gov’t offices, and even started telling me to stay in Taiwan instead of going back to my home country. I have also been gifted with chocolate, and bags of fruit…

IN ANY CASE, her former KTV 小姐 background makes me VERY APPREHENSIVE. I mean, it creates all sort of crazy images in my mind. I have never been inside one, but I have heard all sorts of dark, crazy tales. What are your experiences? I mean are they prostitutes, connected to organized crime, etc.?

KTV hostesses are paid to have drinks with customers and keep them company. It depends on the establishment, but what goes on beyond that is usually up to the girls themselves. Some take things further for extra money on the side, and many don’t.