I'm late for American taxes-what now?

So, I’ve been living under a rock, avoiding this, but now I’m worried.
I’ve lived in Taipei for almost 2 years now, but I was a Chinese student before.
If it weren’t for Covid-19, I would visit the American institute and ask them about the American taxes.

This looks like such a mess. I don’t know where to start looking at it.
I work for an international company in Taipei, but none of my coworkers are American.
And then I wonder, do I also have to pay something to California?

Have a chat with @Bree she’ll have you sorted quickly.

2 Likes

I’m sorry, what US embassy would that be?

2 Likes

You know what OP means - the thing that’s essentially an embassy but they’re not allowed to call an embassy in case any neighbors complain.

You mean AIT?

I don’t mean anything, but I’m guessing OP does, yeah. Surprising description in Google, btw:

3 Likes

File your taxes. If you owe money, there will probably be late fees and penalties. If you’re getting a refund, you’re probably square.

1 Like

Is there a simple way to file?
I don’t think my taxes are very complex. I’m single, I have no dependents, I pay rent with cash out of pocket. In America I always used TurboTax.

There’s another big mess I should deal with with credit cards.

I would also like to keep working and have a full schedule.

It would be really nice to visit a tax office – is that possible with Covid going around?

File with TurboTax from here. If you didn’t make over 100,000 USD/yr (and change, I think it might be 105,000USD now) and you have bone fide residency (an ARC), you don’t owe Uncle Sam anything. (This is assuming you don’t have rental properties and other such additional forms of income which result in more complicated forms). Basically, you just need to file your taxes, not pay them. As long as you don’t owe anything, it is unlikely you’ll get in much trouble (maybe a slight fine).

1 Like

That’s good news. I make less than that.
Thanks!