Information about Sesame Street schools

Hey Everybody,

I’ve been living and teaching in Taiwan for two years now. Recently felt like changing jobs so I’m starting at a Sesame Street school next week. Does anyone know much about their mandatory training days? I’ve heard really bad stories so far. Can I refuse to do the training? Considering I’ve got two years experience already.

Sounds like a great idea. What could go wrong?

1 Like

If you tell them your reason for why you feel it is ok to skip their training, because you already have experience. They will probably say something like… “but you don’t know our system”. And then if you press on it, your manager or whoever will feel annoyed. It’s your job, and your sanity, so feel the need to do whatever that will give you peace of mind. If they totally overreact they maybe you will learn this branch is not good and you need to move on.

2 Likes

This branch should be good because their previous foreign teachers all have good reviews, plus stayed along time. It’s more the fact that Sesame Street is infamous for very toxic people at the headquarters training place. I’m thinking to use refuse the training, I’m in a remote area where it’s impossible to find foreign teachers, so they might have to accept that.

I wonder how the PBS show of the same name feels about this blatant copyright violation. Maybe someone should inform them…?

1 Like

Not sure bud, but it’s a very old school. So it’s been happening awhile now.

:rofl:

The Taiwan teaching scene is known for very toxic people at head offices lol.
Usually the ones who have done that same job since leaving college and are now in their 40s and bitter. I think most people would end up toxic sitting in the same office for 15 years , working with the same system , but not getting the same benefits and pay , as say a civil servant .