Intensive Chinese Courses in Taiwan?

I’ve been studying Chinese for 7 years and I still don’t speak it very well. I passed HSK4 two years ago but since leaving China I’ve only done self-study which isn’t getting me very far. Where can I go to take classes so that I finally can speak fluently. I want in person classes.

I was going to recommend the program I attended, but I just realized it left Taiwan and moved to China years ago. :sweat_smile:

https://topics.amcham.com.tw/2017/11/taipei-place-study-chinese/

Definitely not NTNU’s MTC. They call it intensive, I call it crap.

1 Like

I’ve literally never heard a good word spoken about MTC.

3 Likes

It was in your article. Didn’t want people to get the wrong idea. Helping to spread the bad word to protect people.

2 Likes

Apparently, there’s still a Chinese language program at NTU. I guess it replaced the one I attended. No idea how good it is though.

Pretty chintzy video…students seem to be speaking at a decent level though, so I guess the new program works.

ICLP has been there for years. I looked at it way back when I moved to Taiwan. The cost turned me off, but now I realise I get what I pay for.

I paid little at MTC, I received little.

1 Like

Yeah, I’m just noticing now, ha. It was called the IUP or Stanford Center back when I went, although the current program seems to have kept the same format as the IUP, and I even noticed a couple of the texts I used in the video.

Looks great, but way too expensive.

Yeah, looks quite a bit more expensive than when I went (30 years ago!), and I seem to remember getting some kind of financial aid too.

Back in the day when Tai Da was still Cow-Ed

I listened to the video and was surprised teachers with otherwise Taiwanese accents were teaching the students erhua… 一點兒…

1 Like