Interview Help

Hi all… I just received an email from Hess. They want to do a phone interview with me on Wednesday evening (Thursday morning in Taiwan). Any thoughts or suggestions on the interview - how to prepare, what to expect, etc…?

Any thoughts on Hess as an employer - positive or negative? Though, if you have something negative, make sure it is constructive criticism. In otherwords, I want to hear a logical reason behind your opinion. Not just, “I HATE THEM! They are screwed up!”

This is a flame free post! Thank you.

LJ

Hi LJ,

Maybe you could check out this thread, if you haven’t already:
Hess is good

I have had friends work at Hess in the past, and as far as I know, they’re a mega-buxiban.

The thread Alien mentions refers to another, more ominous-sounding thread. But I can’t find it anywhere. It may have been called “HESS=MESS” (I found one other reference to it when I searched for “Hess”. Does anyone know where to find that thread?

LJ-

I have no personal experience with Hess at all, HOWEVER…go to http://eslcafe.com/jd2/ and do a search on “Hess” for the past 6 months or so. The overall opinion I get from the posts there is that Hess is just about the worst place you can work.

But check them out for yourself…

LJ, you can get better pay at a better school easily by arriving first and then looking for work. I really suggest you do that. Sorry, no exact details here, but Hess does have a bad reputaion amongst English teachers and you should consider that there may be a goodd reason for that. I’ve never worked for them, but I never would, just because of what I’ve heard about them and the fact that the pay about 75% or less what others do. I think your best off arriving and getting a feel for it beofre you look for a job.

Bri