Investment options for a rookie

Hi folks, I’d like to get some solid opinion/advice from anyone out there regarding investment. I am a rookie/noob/kid

Quick Background:
I’m indian-Taiwanese. Taiwanese Passport. Work in the Nangang Area for a Medical Device firm. Have an account with “Mega Bank” (Local).

So I reached 100k NT$ in savings today. :discodance: When Nan passed away (R.I.P) she gave me 1 mil.
I’m looking for investment options as its just money in the bank doing nothing. If you can recommend some reading to further my knowledge, it would be much appreciated. So far, I’ve only read Freakonomics… and the occasional Financial Times/wall street Journal but I don’t get half of what they say.

To start off,

1. Is it too early to consider investment options?
  2. Should I just save up for the time-being?
  3. Is there a go to guy who helps you invest in bonds, shares, e.t.c.
  4. Can you invest in foreign companies from Taiwan?
  5. I can’t read Chinese for ****. Will this be a problem?

I haven’t got a clue about the markets, foreign currency e.t.c so please try to simplify your advice/opinion. :notworthy:
Thank you all in advance. Just a guy trying to increase his meagre dough

Load up on booze, broads, guns, and gold. All are bound to go up in price. I’m not convinced on gold yet, but you’re Indian and should have it anyway

Khan Academy has free online courses on the basics of investing and finances. It should give you a reasonable base (I haven’t used them, but the courses I have taken though that site have all been pretty good).

Best advice ever…

Being serious though, in Taiwan, can you go to a bank and buy portfolios or bonds? if that is possible I guess it would make this endeavor easier.

Best advice ever…

Being serious though, in Taiwan, can you go to a bank and buy portfolios or bonds? if that is possible I guess it would make this endeavor easier.[/quote]