Is Learning Chinese Worth it?

I often chat with my friends about the importance of learning Chinese. They disagree because they are caught up in their Western frame of mind. :wink:

I have been learning Mandarin now for 5 years and have reached a comfortable level. I use a combination of tools online, like Skype, NCIKU and http://www.chineslearnonline.com

They are all very helpful and I feel like I’m making progress.

Do you feel that learning Chinese is worth it? :ponder:

I am a ‘westerner’ who has learned Chinese on and off for about a decade, now.

It depends what you mean by ‘worth it’. It’s been invaluable for speaking with Chinese speakers and reading Chinese books and websites. Apart from that, it’s been a huge waste of time. :wink:

People who are crap at languages think I’m ‘clever’, and I’m sure it helps in job interviews, even though Chinese language skills are irrelevant in my work.

Learning it is really pretty damned important if you want to speak, read or write it, that’s for SURE! :laughing:
Or do you mean is being able to speak, read and write some Chinese worth it?
“It depends” is the obvious answer. For someone planning to work in an all-Chinese-speaking company or attend an all-Chinese-speaking school? Definitely.
For a ski-tow operator in Scotland? A bit less so, probably.
For the satisfaction of achieving something? Its as “worth it” as any other time-consuming hobby, I suppose.

Whether it’s worth it or not depends on who you are, where you live, what’s your occupation, what are your interests, abilities, existing committments, etc.