Is there a legit way to stream HBO shows (i.e. Westworld)?

As per the title. I just want to be able to watch Westworld (and why not, other HBO shows - isn’t High Maintenance on HBO?), on my computer or on my TV on demand (connected to internet via Apple TV). Is this possible in Taiwan?

I know HBO Go exists, but it seems to be only Hong Kong and Philippines. I don’t have cable and don’t particularly want it, but I guess if paying for cable lets me also stream stuff, I may be persuaded to sign up.

I do regularly buy TV shows from the iTunes Canada Store (using a Canadian credit card), but the HBO shows usually aren’t available there until a couple of months after the season ends.

When I look at the HBO website, there’s something called “HBO On Demand”. I guess that means I can stream if I’m a cable subscriber - but does that give me options for current shows?

Yeah, I know there are other options, options that I’ve been using for many years, but it’d be nice to do things legally and marginally more ethically.

HBO Go is only for those who already subscribe to HBO through cable in North America. The app you want is HBO Now, but you’ll have to access it with a US IP address. The service is blocked in Taiwan, and if HBO’s servers detect a Taiwan IP they’ll block you. (HBO Now is probably already on your Apple TV desktop. If not you can choose to put it there from Settings).

You’ll also have to subscribe to the HBO Now service. Last time I looked it was US$14.99/month. There was a 30-days free option. (so far I will wait for Westworld S2 to come to HBO Asia).

A VPN would do the trick, or any other tunneling option. Some are free, some are not. There also may be more dubious ways to do this.

Here is one I found by searching “watching hbo now in taiwan”. I don’t use it and can’t vouch for it (and I don’t think it’s free). Just an example.

https://taiwanhbo.usa-ip-address.com

1 Like

Is HBO available legitimately in Taiwan in any way shape or form?