Is there any student whom you like or dislike?

I am a Taiwanese student and I am going to start writing a paper which realtes to students’ behaviors in ELS classes. Would you please share me with your opinions about the students you like or dislike. And why ? Thank you very much.

I like students that attempt to communicate at any level.

I dislike students that wait to be spoon-fed the answer, students that don’t speak at all, students that speak at a whisper, and students that answer questions with a one-word answer. Not surprisingly, the students that have these bad habits in English usually have them in Chinese as well.

I can only think of one student I truly didn’t like when I taught kindy years ago. He was far too advanced in his English skills for the class, and ended up disrupting the class out of boredom. Yet the school wouldn’t put him in the advanced class where he belonged, at the behest of his parents. It wasn’t his fault that I didn’t like him; it was the school’s fault for caring more about the parents’ wishes than the kid’s needs.

When teaching adult classes, the students I didn’t like were the ones who would not apply themselves: they never did homework assignments, and would not speak up in class.

The ones I liked best were the ones who spoke up in class, even if their English skills were poor.

[quote=“Maoman”]
I dislike students that wait to be spoon-fed the answer, students that don’t speak at all, students that speak at a whisper, and students that answer questions with a one-word answer. Not surprisingly, the students that have these bad habits in English usually have them in Chinese as well.[/quote]
This pretty much sums it up. As long as a student tries they’ll have my respect, but a student who sits like a stone without saying a word drives me crazy!

[quote=“barfomcgee”][quote=“Maoman”]