Is this contract legal?

I just received a contract for a public school teaching position, and I am unsure of its legality. For example, there is an article that allows the school to ask a teacher “to depart Taiwan immediately” for breach of contract. There is another article that allows the school to withhold one month’s salary as a punishment for breach of contract, which I understand is prohibited by Taiwanese labor laws. I’d love some guidance by legal experts/attorneys on whether a public school teaching contract can legally enforce such things. Thanks!

I’m not a lawyer or labor law expert but you can be deported for breaking laws. Otherwise, there’s usually a bit of time before your work permit gets cancelled/terminated so “immediately” seems unreal-or so I thought. Contact your local labor department/center for more definite answers. Withholding one month salary as a penalty is actually illegal and they can’t do that. If you’ve worked those hours/days they need to pay you–all wages must be paid.

Just wondering is this contract offered by Teach Taiwan or by the MOE/Bureau of Education?

I think it is illegal.
Don’t have anything like that in my contract.

I know this clause was in my old contracts and the school and whoever was in charge of the English program in the city just said to give a one month notice and they wouldn’t enforce that clause. I think I read somewhere that they can’t withhold it from your paycheck, they have to bill you for it and you have to pay them. (If I’m wrong about that someone can correct me.)

In my new contract for next year they got rid of that clause and actually replaced it with them having to pay me 1 month severance pay if they break the contract.

Then you need to go ask an attorney and not an Internet forum full of “experts” :joy: