Is Tutoring Long Term Sustainable?

Hi there,

I have been working at a private school in Taipei for the last 13 years. I enjoy teaching the students (Grade 1) but have becoming jaded with some of the demands being placed on teachers by management.

Has anyone here or someone you know been able to creat a portfolio of 1-1 tutoring or group classes? I’d love to here about some of the success stories.

Thanks

E

I’m interested in starting an online school. I’ve got some experience and a plan if you are interested.

Great side game, but only side game. I liked doing it on my Sundays. Best is to have elementary for consistency. Working adults change hours before but 10yr olds can’t.

While we’re on the subject, to supplement my dwindling finances (two children aren’t cheap) I need to pick up some tutoring hours but haven’t dabbled much in it before (despite living here for 8 years). Is there a good FB group for tutoring in Taiwan, either online or in person? Thanks in advance.

You might want to consider online IELTS examining. It wasn’t right for me, but I know a few guys who make reasonable money.

1 Like

Thanks. @TT mentioned that as well. Should I just google IELTS or is there a local institute in Taiwan I should seek out?

I believe the way is to start your own business as a teacher. Surely with 13 years at the same school you should be in good standing with parents. Moving to another school not an option?

There are those who do very well with teaching as a business. Gives you the flexibility to teach to your own standards.

2 Likes

British Council or IDP.

2 Likes

I have thought about doing that. Are there any Forumosans who have have managed to create and sustain their own teaching business? I would imagine there is a lot of tips they could give in regards to what and what not to do. If you are one of those, I’d love to hear from you.